Book launch celebrates 250 years at Second Ballyeaston Presbyterian

Ffrom left)  Dr Robert McMillen receiving the restored vellum architect's drawings from Howard and Hugh Taggart. INNT 21-471-CON
Ffrom left) Dr Robert McMillen receiving the restored vellum architect's drawings from Howard and Hugh Taggart. INNT 21-471-CON
0
Have your say

A book tracing the history of Second Ballyeaston Presbyterian Church was launched at a service on Sunday evening.

Celebrating 250 Years - History of Second Ballyeaston Presbyterian Church by Wilbert Garvin is now on sale through the church website.

Mr. Garvin, church organist, attended the event accompanied by his wife Betty.

Also present was Minister Emeritus Rev. Robin Boyd.

The evening commenced with a short service of worship led by Second Ballyeaston Minister Rev. Chris Glover.

One of the main highlights of the evening was the presentation of original vellum drawings of the church buildings which have been framed by the Taggart family for display.

Rev. Glover explained: “These were found when building work took place in the Sixties.

“Fortunately, the builders realised there was something interesting about them.

“These are unique and priceless to the church. They are very beautiful.”

They were presented to the church clerk of session Dr. Robert McMillen by the Taggart family who had them framed for display.

A variety of assorted church memorabilia was also put on show.

This included old communion tokens and pewterware as well as marriage records dating from 1800 and baptismal records.

There were also photographs from Ballyeaston Vintage Tractor Association and from the country fairs.

The book launch marks the end of a year’s anniversary celebrations.

The church, originally called Rashee Presbyterian Church, was founded in 1763 as a Seceder congregation - it was located at the Five Corners.