Duo in contention for Motorcylist of the Year accolade

Carrick rider Graeme Irwin

Carrick rider Graeme Irwin

East Antrim’s Jonathan Rea and Graeme Irwin, are in with a great chance of lifting the Irish Motorcyclist of the Year award.

They are among the so-called ‘Magnificent 7’, which also includes Keith Farmer, Ryan Farquhar, Jack Kennedy, Eugene Laverty and Michael Dunlop.

The seven riders will battle it out for the Enkalon Irish Motorcyclist of the Year, in association with Adelaide. They have been shortlisted after thousands of bike fans voted in a special online poll for their favourite rider of 2012. The winner will be presented with the famous Joey Dunlop trophy at the Adelaide Motorcycle Awards in Belfast on January 18.

Ballyclare’s Rea finished the 2012 season as the only British rider to have ever won the Suzuka 8-hour race, and claimed fifth overall in the World Superbike championship with two wins to his credit. During the season he also deputised for the injured Casey Stoner in MotoGP, taking the Repsol Honda to 8th in Misano and 7th at the Aragon race.

The sole motocross rider shortlisted is Carrick’s Graeme Irwin who has signed for the Heads and All Threads Suzuki team this season. He excelled in last year’s MX2 series where he finished fourth. He also finished third in the Red Bull Pro National.

In all, more than a dozen other awards will be presented on the night.


Back to the top of the page