Assembly Election 2016: UUP’s Cochrane-Watson eliminated

editorial image

The first major casualty of the South Antrim count is the UUP’s Adrian Cochrane-Watson.

The outgoing MLA was eliminated at the fourth stage of the count;; he received 1,947 first preference votes.

Mr Cochrane-Watson was co-opted onto the NI Assembly following Danny Kinahan’s election as Member of Parliament.

After four rounds of the count the only MLA elected remains Paul Girvan (DUP).