Independent members appointed to new community Policing Partnership

THE Policing Board has confirmed the appointment of nine independent members to Newtownabbey’s new Policing and Community Safety Partnership (PCSP).

The appointments are as follows: Mr Brian Mullan (60) from Glengormley, a retired projects manager for the Northern Ireland Housing Executive; Mrs Joan Cosgrove (73) from Newtownabbey, a retired lecturer; Mrs Barbara Gilliland (70) from Jordanstown, a retired company director and former UUP councillor; Mrs Catherine Hardy (47) from Glengormley, a full-time voluntary community worker; Mrs Audrey Murray (47) from Ballyclare, a business development manager; Mr Jordan Greer (18), a student from Ballyclare and member of the DUP’s Newtownabbey Branch; Mrs Joanne Hamilton-Whyte (39), a part-time legal secretary/legal book keeper from Newtownabbey; Mr Michael Goodman (53), an unemployed community development worker from Glengormley and a member of Sinn Fein; Miss Stephanie McVicker (45), a freelance facilitator/administrator from Belfast.

The nine independent members will sit alongside 10 elected representatives on the new partnership, which is due to hold its first meeting on June 7.