New Year’s Honours

Prof Michael Johnston who received the MBE. INNT 01-802CON
Prof Michael Johnston who received the MBE. INNT 01-802CON

Three people from Newtownabbey have received awards in the New Year’s Honours.

Dr Robert Leslie Caul from Greenisland, received an OBE for services to education and sport in Northern Ireland.

Dr Caul has prepared generations of teachers in Northern Ireland at Stranmillis College and as a Queen’s University Belfast Fellow.

At Stranmillis College his achievements include the development of a new undergraduate degree programme in Early Childhood Studies. This was the first of its kind in Northern Ireland.

He has been chairman of the Irish Football Association since 2010 and has been instrumental in the current redevelopment of Windsor Park.

Prof Michael Johnston from Ballyclare, received the MBE for services to the dairy industry in Northern Ireland. Prof Johnston is chief executive of the Dairy Council in Northern Ireland. He has raised the performance of the NI dairy industry to global standards of excellence and has supported the NI Milk Cup International Football tournament, for which the Dairy Council for NI was the major sponsor for 30 years. He has also developed the ‘Food and Fitness’ programme for primary schools.

Mr Mukesh Sharma DL also received the MBE for services to the travel trade in Northern Ireland. Mr Sharma is the managing director of Selective Travel Management. He is a shareholder and managing director of the family-run business Thriftway Travel. It was established in 1982 and is currently Ireland’s largest long-haul specialist ‘ticket-consolidation’ business.

He is the current chairman of ArtsEkta, Northern Ireland’s leading multi-ethnic arts and multi-cultural organisation and helped to establish The Belfast Mela.