Still time to enter ploughing match

BALLYBOLEY and District Tractor Ploughing Society have announced details of their 55th annual match, to be held on Saturday, February 11 on the lands of Mr Hamill, Templepatrick Road, just outside Ballyclare.

This year, too, there will be a new classic class.

Secretary Raymond Clifford explained: “We have plenty of ground this year, and have 42 entries already confirmed – but there is still time to enter before the closing date of Monday, February 6.

“And the standard of ploughing should be as high as ever, with four former World Champions, David and Samuel Gill, David Wright and Thomas Cochrane amongst the competitors.”

This year, too, there will be no presentation dinner, with the awards handed out in the field.

Ballyboley and District Tractor Ploughing Society have also recently held their annual general meeting in the local Pipe Band hall.

John Robinson conducted the election of officers, as follows:

President; Mr Hugo McConnaughie.

Vice Presidents; Mrs Gertie Baxter; Mr Gardiner Wilson, Mr Tom Clyde, Mr John Gault, Mr Richard Park, Mr Bertie Wilson.

Chairman; Allen McAnally. Vice Chairman; Robin Jenkins.

Secretary; Raymond Clifford

Treasurer; William Steele

Field Conveners; John Robinson, William McAuley, Len Taggart, James Adair.

Safety Officer; Bertie Wilson.

Northern Ireland Ploughing Association Representatives; Hugo McConnaughie, Raymond Clifford, Allen McAnally.

Sub Committee; James Boyle, William McAuley, James Adair, John Robinson.