Third form awards day for star pupils at Belfast High

<Digimax S1030 / Kenox S1030>
<Digimax S1030 / Kenox S1030>

Belfast High School’s junior star pupils have been honoured for their excellence both in and out of the classroom.

They picked up the accolades during the recent Third Form awards ceremony last Wednesday.

Guest of honour was Ross Ewart, the former head of the history department.

The Third Year Cup – awarded for academic excellence – went to John Mackey.

The Shield of Merit – awarded for contributions made outside the classroom in addition to excellent academic standards – was won by Emily Morgan.

The Wilson Shield – awarded for outstanding academic endeavour – was lifted by Peter Macartney.

The Louise Logan Cup – awarded for excellence in girls’ junior sport – was collected by Jessica McMaster.

The Victor Lyness Cup – awarded for excellence in boys’ junior sport – was won by Harry Burbidge.

Several special awards were also presented for pupils whom the form teacher and year teacher believe to have worked to their full potential and whoseconduct and manner have been most creditable.

3J Form Teacher Mrs L McCabe selected Ellen Anderson and Joshua Crothers.

3K Form Teacher Mrs G O’Rourke picked Kenneth Donaldson and Julea Glover.

3L Form Teacher Mrs J Moore selected Craig McMaster.