Don will be difficult act to follow

BALLYCLARE Comrades are on the lookout for a new groundsman following the resignation of Don Horner.

Tuesday, 13th July 2010, 11:24 am
Updated Tuesday, 13th July 2010, 12:54 pm

For the past twenty-one years Don has faithfully attended to not only the playing surface at Dixon Park, but also the entire complex, and he will be a difficult act to follow.

Speaking to the Times’ local correspondent, Don said that due to advancing years he felt that it was time for a younger man to take over.

"It would be difficult to have a job specification for groundsman at any football club," stated Don. "Ensuring that there is a rich green sward at the beginning of the season and then maintaining it is the top priority. On match days everything has to be spic-and-span on the pitch, the terraces and in the changing rooms, and in fact the groundsman tends to be a general dogsbody.

"I have been associated with the Comrades since boyhood, and I will continue to be heavily involved in the club having been re-elected Secretary," he added.

Club Chairman, Trevor McCann, led the tributes to Don saying: "Don spends most of his time in Dixon Park. No matter what time of the day I drop in to Dixon Park, Don is likely to be there. He keeps the ground in excellent order, and on match days he is first in and last out, so he will be very difficult to replace, but I understand that there is already some interest in the position," added Trevor.

Gordon Chambers also chipped in with his appreciation of Don's contribution to Ballyclare Comrades Football Club.

"Don has done a fantastic job over the years, he puts his heart and soul into the job and will not be easily replaced."

Meanwhile, there were no major changes at the recent AGM with re-election being the order of the day for the main offices: President and Vice Chairman, Eddie McClintock; Chairman, Trevor McCann; Treasurer, Robert Fleck, Secretary, Don Horner.

The committee members are: Alice Turner (Assistant Treasurer), Tim Duff, Sammy Fee, Willie Graham, George Hanna, Drew Horner, Paddy Kelly, Jackie Patterson, Willie Smyth and Tommy Streight (Sen).