Bangor see off Comrades in Irish Cup at Dixon Park

editorial image


A late goal from substitute Sean Cahill booked Championship One strugglers Bangor’s spot in the sixth round of Irish Cup in a 3-2 win over Ballyclare Comrades at Dixon Park.

The visitors got off to the perfect start when Ryan Murray put them in front on nine minutes. The former Comrades man, with a clear run on goal, confidently guided the ball into the bottom left-hand corner past Paddy Flood.

Ballyclare hit back midway through the first half courtesy of an instinctive strike from captain Ricky Higgins. He was in the right place at the right time to fire home from close range after Seasiders’ stopper Andrew Dickey had parried.

Higgins then turned provider as his looping 37th-minute cross was met by the head of Johnny McClurg, just dropping over the line via the crossbar.

Three minutes into the second half, Bangor were back in the hunt with Jonathan Watterson nipping in at the back post to level from the narrowest of angles.

Comrades’ Kyle Agnew had the ball in the net just after the hour, but it was ruled out for offside.

Bangor had the final say four minutes from time when Cahill rounded Flood to the send the Seasiders through.

Ballyclare Comrades: Flood, Reid, Buckley, McAlea, Doyle, Forsythe, Earley (Agnew), Magowan, McClurg, Higgins, Brown (Gray). Subs: Agnew, Monteith, Montgomery, Hill.

Bangor: Dickey, Beattie, Whitford, Youle, O’Hara, Scates, McLaughlin, Lambe, Murray, Shimmon (Cahill), Watterson (Armstrong). Subs: Mann, Justin, O’Kane.

Referee: Ian McNabb (Newtownabbey).