Horner back in post at Dixon Park

Club stalwart Don Horner is back in harness for Ballyclare Comrades, following his election as honorary secretary at the recent annual general meeting.

Having served in the post for over 20 years, Don retired a year ago, but following the resignation of his successor, Ian Johnston, Don once again will be in charge of the books, with Drew Horner as his back-up.

Back too comes Trevor Fleming to take the important position of honorary treasurer following the lapse of a year. In his first stint, Trevor made an impressive impact at Dixon Park, and club chairman, Trevor McCann, is delighted to have him back on board, where he will have Jackie Murdock as his assistant.

Trevor was re-elected to the top post, while Eddie McClintock continues in the dual role of president and vice-chairman.

Committee members are: Sammy Fee, Tom Streight (Sen), Tom Streight (Jun), Davy Cahill, Willie Graham, Robert Logan, Tim Duff, Jackie Patterson, Drew Horner, Ernie McCormick and Jackie Murdock.

“This year’s AGM was one of the best attended in recent years,” said McCann. “It was standing room only in the Bob Girvan Boardroom, and it is encouraging to have three new members on the committee.

“Eddie Hill in his first full season at the helm did exceptionally well to ensure that we gained promotion to Championship 1, while Jonty Watson’s 2nd XI won the Ballymena Junior League Division 1 title for the second successive season.”

“Excitement is mounting as we await our fixture list, when we will be looking forward to much awaited local derbies with Larne and Carrick Rangers.”