IRISH LEAGUE: Ciaran Caldwell rescues point for Glentoran against Mallards


Saturday, 8th October 2016, 6:33 pm
Updated Tuesday, 25th October 2016, 3:07 pm
Glentoran celebrate after scoring to make it 1-1 against Ballinamallard.

Ciaran Caldwell pounced to spare Glentoran’s blushes against Ballinamallard United at the Oval.

The midfielder struck just when the east Belfast side appeared to be stumbling to yet another defeat.

Big Adam Lecky shot battling Ballinamallard United into a first half lead, one that didn’t come under serious threat until Caldwell struck early after the break.

In fact, had Lecky and young Ryan Mayse missed second half chances to kill off Gary Haveron’s boys.

A error by defender David Elliott almost gifted Glentoran the lead after only 60 seconds. He had his pocket picked by Aaron Harmon, who drove forward before firing in a blistering drive that brought a good response from James McGrath.

United came close to silencing the home fans on 20 minutes when Liam McMenamin pocked out Johnny Lafferty, who sent in a delicious drive form the edge of the box that crashed off the base of the post.

Gavin Dykes’ team were always dangerous on the break and it was no surprise when Lecky shot them in front on 41 minutes.

Shane McGinty was the architect, threading the ball into the striker’s path and when confronted by Morris, he cleverly drilled the ball under the goalkeeper’s body.

Lecky should have had the Mallards out of sight just four minutes after the break. He was sent hurtling through the middle by a peach of a pass from Mayse and with only Morris to beat, he shamefully fired over the top.

It proved to be costly miss. The Glens responded on 56 minutes when Caldwell gave the home fans something to cheer. Redman’s free kick bobbled about on the edge of the box before the big midfielder took charge and his low drive flashed into the bottom corner.

Glentoran: Morris, Magee, Caldwell, Allen, Lavery, Foley, Harmon, Addis, Gordon (Smith 65), Redman, Ferrin.

Unused subs: Novo, McAuley, Nelson, Leu.

Ballinamallard United: McGrath, McMenamin, Taheny, McCabe (McCartney 54), McGinty (Norris 78), McKenna, Lafferty, McConnell, Lecky, Mayse, Elliott (Owens 72).

Unused subs: Armstrong, McElwaine.

Referee L Tavinder (Carrickfergus).