Peter picks up Grassroots award

Photo by Aaron McCracken/Harrisons
Photo by Aaron McCracken/Harrisons

Pete Otter from Carnmoney Ladies FC is celebrating after being named the Eastern Coach of the Year in the regional McDonald’s Irish FA Community Awards.

Now in its second year, the McDonald’s Irish FA Community Awards recognise and reward the clubs, coaches and volunteers that make outstanding contributions to grassroots football across Northern Ireland.

The regional awards element has been introduced for 2012 to reflect the outstanding level of work that is carried out in local communities throughout Northern Ireland. After his success within the Eastern region, Pete will now be on the shortlist for the overall Northern Ireland Awards event which takes place in November at Belfast City Hall.

Commenting on the Regional Awards and the commitment of club volunteers like Pete Pat Jennings, McDonald’s Head of Northern Ireland Football, said: “I’d like to congratulate Pete on his well-deserved success and wish him the best of luck for the McDonald’s IFA Community Awards event in November. These Awards provide a great opportunity to pay tribute to some of the people who make such a telling contribution to grassroots football. The dedication and commitment of last year’s winners was truly an inspiration and I’m delighted that McDonald’s and the Irish FA are building upon this success for the 2012 Awards.

“The Awards form a key part of McDonald’s Community Partnership with the Irish FA; a partnership that is celebrating ten years in 2012 and is helping young footballers shine. This long established relationship is delivering a lasting legacy through ongoing coach creation and education, a Club Accreditation Scheme, the McDonald’s Irish FA Community Awards, the Player Escort programme as well as a series of regional Small Sided Games Centres.”

Nominations remain open in a number of categories until September 4. If you know someone who deserves to be recognised for their commitment to grassroots football or you would like to vote within a shortlist of three candidates within the ‘People’s Award’ category then please visit