Golf: Around the fairways

Whitehead Golf Club hosts its Annual Open Week of Golf from Saturday, June 28 to Saturday, July 5, helping to mark the 110th anniversary of the club.

Tuesday, 3rd June 2014, 11:15 pm
Golf update

Harry Wade won the Gordon Bennett Trophy at Carrickfergus GC on Saturday with a 62 nett. Jim McIlwaine was the low section winner with a 66 nett followed by Grahame Arthur, Tommy Black and Gary Barbour - all 67 Nett.

High Handicap winners were David McCune (67 nett), Stephen McAlinden (69 nett), John Lemon (68 nett) and Andrew Addley 69 nett. Johathan Nelson won the Gross Prize with a level-par 68.

Carolyn Atkinson and Heather Gilmour (35 points) won the Australian Spoon qualifier at Larne GC on Friday (May 30).

Runners-up Roma English and Lisa Oldfield also scored 35 points but were beaten in the back nine.

The next round is to be played at Ballyclare on July 29.

Ballyclare Golf Club Lady Captain Dorothy Stewart (34 points) won the Denise Burke Trophy on Thursday (May 29).

Rosie Wallace was a close second, with Lady President Marjorie Beresford in third.

Greenacres Golf Club’s Captain’s Day is set to take place on Saturday, June 14. This year’s captain at the Ballyrobert club is Jim Ireland.