Miles Cup win for Belfast High School


Belfast High School’s Under-12s defeated their Carrickfergus Grammar counterparts by 49 runs in the final of the Miles Cup at Irwin Park recently.

The Jordanstown school had won the trophy for three years on the spin, while the Grammar were victorious the previous four years.

The trophy was presented to Carrickfergus Cricket Club in 1963 by Mrs. Miles in memory of her husband, Mr. J. Miles.

Belfast High batted first in the 12-a-side game and scored 62. Aaron Douglas scored 14 runs and Jack McConnell took four for 14, while Denvra Jayasinghe took two for eight.

Douglas took six for five, including a hat-trick, and Ben Buchanan-Rolleston took five for eight.

David McKillen, who organised the competition on behalf of Carrickfergus Cricket Club, presented the trophy.

Players from both schools and their families were encouraged to utilise the excelent facilities at the Middle Road club.

The game was umpired by Glen Graham and Richard Hood.