Mossley named Club of the Year at Ulster awards

Mossley Hockey Club and Mossley Ladies HC were collectively named Club of the Year at Ulster Hockey’s Annual Gala Dinner and Awards.

Saturday, 31st May 2014, 9:00 am
Celebrating being named Ulster Hockey's Club of the Year are (l-r) Heather Young (Mossley Ladies HC President), Janet Clarke (Mossley Ladies HC Vice President), Brian Clarke (Mossley Hockey Club Vice Chairman), Debbie Peachey (Mossley Ladies HC Youth Development Officer) and Stephen Clarke (Mossley Men's 1st XI Captain).

At the event Ulster Hockey President, Billy Stewart, presented Mossley Ladies with their Senior 4 league trophy and Junior Plate following the success of their 1st and 2nd XI in the 2013-14 season. Both awards were collected by Mossley Ladies’ President, Heather Young.

Mr Stewart also presented Mossley HC with The Anderson Cup Plate following the 1st XI’s success in the Super 9s finals at Banbridge.

With over 200 attendees which included guest speaker Denise Watson, Ulster Hockey organised a fantastic event to congratulate and award all clubs for their superb efforts throughout the season.

Special mention was given to the Glade-based club for its exemplary hosting of the Under-16 and Under-18 interprovincials and the international Under-21 tournament which saw Ireland, Scotland, England and Germany descend on Newtownabbey.

A number of special awards were presented on the evening and Mossley’s 1st XI were recognised for their excellent discipline this season and were presented with the Fair Play Trophy which was collected by 1st XI captain, Stephen Clarke.

Introducing the final award of the evening, Ulster Hockey Club of the Year, Nigel McCullough commented on the superb efforts of two clubs which have shown excellent development both on and off the pitch, making particular mention of the success of junior sides within both clubs and the superb efforts of volunteers within the clubs. Collectively Mossley HC and Mossley Ladies HC were presented with the prestigious award of Ulster Hockey Club of the Year.

Both clubs would like to take the opportunity to thank all those involved throughout the season - on and off the pitch.