Awards for Ulster Juniors quartet

Rugby update
Rugby update
Share this article

At the recent Awards Night held at The Cloughan, Ulster Plaques were presented to Ballyclare RFC players who had represented Ulster Juniors in the current inter-provincial series.

Retiring club Chairman, Alistair Lindsay, handed over the coveted awards to lock Robert Boyd, wing-forward Gary Weatherup, fly-half Niall Lawther and centre Gary Clotworthy, all of whom had played an important part in restoring Qualifying League Section 1 status to the club following a lapse of almost a decade.

Boyd led the 1st XV from the front, and was rewarded when he received the Player of the Year trophy, while similar trophies were presented to Steven Beasant (2nd XV), Dave Rodgers (3rd XV) and Tony Turner (4th XV).

Trophies were also presented to the various team captains: 1st XV Robert Boyd, 2nd XV Michael Stevenson, 3rd XV Chris Gawn and 4th XV Marc Fox.

Other awards: Top points scorer, Bobby Smith; Top try scorer, Adam Wardrop; Most improved player, Jordan Brownlee; Young Player of the Year, joint winners, Jordan McKinstry and David Lawther.

The Coulter Cup for place-kicking was won by Thomas McGookin from the 4th XV.

Chairman Alistair Lindsay has moved up to take on the duties of Junior Vice President, and has been succeeded by Peter Kirk.

Eddie Simms has organised the very successful 200 Club in recent seasons, and this year’s top winner was Andy Watson who scooped the £1,000 prize in the May draw, with Graham Hall winning £500 and Matt Branagh, £200.

The April prize winners were: Eddie Laird £200, Eddie Martin £100 and Richard Caldwell £50.