SCHOOLS’ CUP: Belfast High to host Omagh Academy

Rugby update
Rugby update

The draw for the second round of this season’s Danske Bank Schools’ Cup has paired Belfast High Scool with Omagh Academy.

The seven winners from the first round were joined in the hat by nine further teams: Bangor Grammar School, Belfast Royal Academy, Coleraine Academical Institution, Down High School, Limavady Grammar School, Belfast High School, Portora Royal School, Dalriada School and Rainey Endowed School.

Eight teams will progress to the third round.

The draw was made by Ivan McMinn (Head of Corporate Banking, Danske Bank) and Stephen Black (Headmasters’ Representative, Ulster Schools’ Committee) and is as follows:

Dalriada School v Portadown College

Banbridge Academy v Coleraine Inst

Down High School v Lurgan College

Regent House v Portora Royal School

Belfast High School v Omagh Academy

Rainey Endowed School v Belfast Royal Academy

Grosvenor Grammar v Bangor Grammar

Limavady Grammar v Foyle College

The fixtures are scheduled to be played on Saturday, January 25.

The eight winners from round two will be joined in the last 16 by the remaining eight sides which include Ballyclare High School, Ballymena Academy, Campbell College, Methodist College Belfast and Royal Belfast Academical Institution.

Schools’ Trophy Draw

The draw for the quarter-finals of the Danske Bank Schools’ Cup Trophy has also made with Carrick Grammar set to make the trip to Friends’ School Lisburn.

The full list of fixtures is as follows:

BYE v Cambridge House

Larne Grammar v Royal School Dungannon

Antrim Grammar School v Wellington College

Friends’ School Lisburn v Carrickfergus Grammar